The Life of Maestra Megan

Adventures in the life of a Costa Rican Missionary

A day off work… June 1, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — ticameg @ 9:33 pm

Who doesn’t love a day off work?  

Except I feel lately like the only time off is for doctor appointments and physical therapy sessions…this is all getting so tiring… I ask myself, How much longer?  Will I ever get better?  Will I have to have an operation or will therapy do the trick?  How much of my life is going to change?  Should I remove an activity from my schedule in this second semester?   So many questions and so few answers thus far…it’s hard to be optimistic through it all.   This past week my pain only increased–when it had been fine for the previous month.  To be blamed are several moments when I had to discipline 5 year old Sianny who threw herself to the floor in a fit and had to be picked up when she would not obey. The scary part is that such a “small thing” caused me pain for 5 days…and I am back on meds again per orthopedist’s orders.

This morning I was reading in 2 Corinthians, and Paul’s letter was an encouragement to my current situation.  He says:

 ” We were crushed and overwhelmed beyond our ability to endure, and we thought we would never live through it.  In fact, we expected to die. But as a result, we stopped relying on ourselves and learned to rely only on God, who raises the dead.  And he did rescue us from mortal danger, and he will rescue us again. We have placed our confidence in him, and he will continue to rescue us.  And you are helping us by praying for us. Then many people will give thanks because God has graciously answered so many prayers for our safety.

We are pressed on every side by troubles, but we are not crushed. We are perplexed, but not driven to despair.  We are hunted down, but never abandoned by God. We get knocked down, but we are not destroyed.  Through suffering, our bodies continue to share in the death of Jesus so that the life of Jesus may also be seen in our bodies.  That is why we never give up. Though our bodies are dying, our spirits are being renewed every day.  For our present troubles are small and won’t last very long.

 Yet they produce for us a glory that vastly outweighs them and will last forever!  So we don’t look at the troubles we can see now; rather, we fix our gaze on things that cannot be seen. For the things we see now will soon be gone, but the things we cannot see will last forever. ”

 

While in pain, I have certainly improved over the past 6-7 weeks. I am grateful for a physical therapist who comes to my house twice a week, and grateful the doctor could see me today before leaving the country for several weeks. I am grateful for friends and coworkers who help me out at work by carrying things. 

I am grateful above all else for all those friends who are praying for me and encouraging me.  You really do lift my spirits!  Keep the messages coming! 

Please continue to pray for a helper for kinder class.  Please pray that I know when to work and when to rest. I am ordered to swim 2-3 times a week for exercise–thankfully I like to swim!  There’s several places nearby, and at one of them I can buy a day pass, while I decide where I want to pay the monthly fees.  Please pray that my back improves enough for me to travel daily on the buses…

 

Leave a Reply

