The Life of Maestra Megan

Adventures in the life of a Costa Rican Missionary

All glory to God! July 18, 2012

Filed under: Prayer Requests — ticameg @ 8:36 pm

God can do anything, you know—

far more than you could ever imagine or guess or request in your wildest dreams!

He does it not by pushing us around but by working within us,

his Spirit deeply and gently within us.  (Ephesians 3:20-21, The Message translation)

Yesterday was the most amazing day. Unforgettable.

  • A few hours at the immigration office in the morning made my temporary residency official, and now I have a Costa Rican ID card!
  • I found out that a friend went in for a C-section, and PRAISE GOD, at 28 weeks and 4 days, she delivered QUADRUPLETS!  While the babies are teensy and will be in the NNICU for a long while, all are doing well so far. Congrats to Andy and Becky on this monumental event, their family just grew from 3 to 7 in an instant!!
  • I received an unexpected, posthumous gift from a special lady who was one of my faithful donors.  Quite simply, it was a reminder that God does extraordinary things with people, when they store up their treasures in heaven.
  • In a phone call with one of my best friends, I learned that she is pregnant!  What joy for a woman who has been longing for a family for 12 years.  I’m so happy for the two of them!!

You would have thought that yesterday was enough. But no, God kept rolling blessings my way.  I left the house already in great pain and wondering how I was going to handle travelling on 3 buses, buy a farewell present for a volunteer, teach English for two hours, followed immediately by the weekly devotional with the teens, followed almost immediately by a children’s Bible club with 30 children in which I would have to start a new attendance list for the new semester, lead songs, tell the Bible story, and direct the craft. And then travel on 3 buses back home in the middle of rush hour.

Needless to say, I couldn’t do it. PRAISE GOD, HE CAN. The morning buses and errand went smoothly, I arrived at the gate to find another missionary waiting to greet me and spend time hearing about my life, and who insisted upon praying with me to start off the day right.   I went inside with plenty of time before class, my two volunteer assistants were ready to go, English class went off without a hitch.  20 teenagers learned today what sincere repentance and confession involves, and how gracious God is to throw our sins far far away.  Jeffry (one of our teen leaders from the Carpio community) offered to help in club, and he did a great job leading the kids in songs.  The children paid attention to the Bible lesson and were reminded that they are to be Christ’s messengers in their homes, neighborhoods, schools.  The craft was simple, fun, creative.  And the 3 bus rides home weren’t so bad.

Like I said–God does FAR MORE than anything I could ever imagine…May you experience the extravagance of Christ’s love in your lives this week….may you “live full lives, full in the fullness of God.”

 

One Response to “All glory to God!”

  1. enjoyed reading! God really laid that Scripture on my heart while I was in Costa Rica too! He provides!!! Still praying for you and all the others in Carpio! God bless!!

    Connor


Leave a Reply

